1. What is the complete name of the Board?
2. What is the Board's address?
3. How can I obtain a license application?
4. Do I need a license prior to bidding on a project?
5. How many licenses can an examinee qualify?
6. How will I know which classification to choose?
7. Does the copy of the corporate charter or the certificate of authority have to be a certified copy?
8. Can I build my own house without a license?
9. How do I know when or if I am required to hold a license to practice general contracting?
10. Does the North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors license subcontractors?
11. Can I take an exam without applying for a license?
12. Does the Board reciprocate with other states?
13. How long will it take to receive a license after submitting an application?
14. How do I increase my license limitation?
15. How can I change the address on my license?
16. What do I need to do to transfer my license?
17. When does my license expire?
18. How much are the renewal fees for each limitation?
19.The company has a license, but we want to add additional employees. How can we get other responsible managing employees of the company scheduled to take examinations?
20. Can I transfer my license to another entity?
21. When I reapply, do I have to submit the references again?
22. Is the application and financial information considered public information?
23. In lieu of an audit, can I submit a review or compilation?
24. Can a parent company's financial information be submitted for a subsidiary's application?
25. How does someone file charges against a general contractor?

1. What is the complete name of the Board? North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors  RETURN TO TOP


2. What is the Board's address? 5400 Creedmoor Road, Raleigh, NC 27612  RETURN TO TOP


3. How can I obtain a license application? Visit the Forms section on our website and download the "Application for License to Practice General Contracting in the State of North Carolina." Application packages can also be mailed or picked up from our office at 5400 Creedmoor Rd, Raleigh, NC 27612 for a fee. Application packages include the application form, instructions, examination information, state requirements and a copy of the Laws and Regulations Applicable to General Contracting in the State of North Carolina are included.   RETURN TO TOP


4. Do I need a license prior to bidding on a project? If the project costs $30,000 or more, you will need a license before submitting a bid (GS 87-1).  RETURN TO TOP


5. How many licenses can an examinee qualify? A person may serve as a qualifier for no more than 2 licenses. [NCAC Title 21; Chapter 12, .0205(a)].  RETURN TO TOP


6. How will I know which classification to choose? Refer to NCAC Article 1, Section .0200 and .0202 for the licensing requirements including classifications and descriptions for each.  RETURN TO TOP


7. Does the copy of the corporate charter or the certificate of authority have to be a certified copy? No.  RETURN TO TOP


8. Can I build my own house without a license? If the land is in your name and the home is solely to be occupied by you and your family for 12 months after completion, you may build your own home without a license. Refer to GS 87-1b2 and GS 87-14a1a-c.  RETURN TO TOP


9. How do I know when or if I am required to hold a license to practice general contracting? North Carolina General Statute 87-1 defines the practice of general contracting; refer to NCGS 87-1 to determine whether these requirements apply in your case.  RETURN TO TOP


10. Does the North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors license subcontractors? No, generally speaking, subcontractors work under the supervision of a prime or general contractor.   RETURN TO TOP


11. Can I take an exam without applying for a license? You must be preapproved to take a North Carolina exam. However, the Board also accepts the NASCLA exam for the Building classification. The NASCLA exam can be taken prior to applying for the license.  RETURN TO TOP


12. Does the Board reciprocate with other states? The Board has an examination waiver agreement with South Carolina, Tennessee, Louisiana, Georgia, and Mississippi for certain examinations and classifications. The respective state licensing board must complete the examination waiver form. The Board also accepts the NASCLA Accredited Building Exam.  RETURN TO TOP


13. How long will it take to receive a license after submitting an application? Initial processing of an application usually takes 2 to 3 weeks. After initial processing, if an examination is required, the Board will send an exam eligibility letter. Once exams are completed, the application goes on the next list for final Board approval. Lists of applicants are typically sent to the Board twice a month based on volume.   RETURN TO TOP


14. How do I increase my license limitation? The "Application for Increase in Limitation" can be downloaded from the forms section of the website. Licenses must be Active for the current year before an increase application can be processed. Complete the increase form and send the form, including an audited financial statement with an unqualified opinion, a classified balance sheet and accompanying notes to the financial statement, with appropriate fee to the Licensing Board. The audit must be prepared by a certified public accountant or an independent accountant who is engaged in the public practice of accountancy. (See NCAC Title 21; Chapter 12.0204 [a-f] for eligibility requirements.) Completed applications can be mailed to the Board with a check or emailed to licensing@nclbgc.org. Emailed applications must pay the increase fee by phone using a credit card.   RETURN TO TOP


15. How can I change the address on my license? Change of address information must be provided to the Board in writing within 30 days from the date of the change [NCAC Title 21; Chapter 12.0505]. We do not have a specific form to be used for an address change, and address changes not accepted over the phone. All address changes must be on company letterhead and signed by the president or owner. Be sure to list the license number and the exact name of the licensee. You may fax an address change to 919 571-4703 or email changes to licensing@nclbgc.org.  RETURN TO TOP


16. What do I need to do to transfer my license? Licenses are not transferable. "...Any person or firm or corporation..." engaging in the practice of general contracting must hold a general contractor's license. The holder of an individual license may not allow a partnership or corporation to use that individual license for any reason (GS 87-1).  RETURN TO TOP


17. When does my license expire? All licenses issued by this Board expire on January 1 of each year.  RETURN TO TOP


18. How much are the renewal fees for each limitation? The Limited license is $75; an Intermediate license is $100; an Unlimited license is $125.   RETURN TO TOP


19. The company has a license, but we want to add additional employees. How can we get other responsible managing employees of the company scheduled to take examinations? To schedule an employee to take the exam, an Examination Request form must be completed. Examination Request forms can be requested by emailing licensing@nclbgc.org and providing your company’s license number.  RETURN TO TOP


20. Can I transfer my license to another entity? No, only exams can be transferred.  RETURN TO TOP


21. When I reapply, do I have to submit the references again? Yes. All applications are required to provide 3 letters of reference on the applicant, qualifiers, or owner of the company. Letters of reference cannot be older than 12 months from the submission date.   RETURN TO TOP


22. Is the application and financial information considered public information? Yes, everything submitted with the application may be considered a public record according to General Statutes, Chapter 132-1 and following, and may be subject to disclosure to the public upon request. Social Security numbers and trade secrets are not disclosed to the public.  RETURN TO TOP


23. In lieu of an audit, can I submit a review or compilation? If applying for an Intermediate or Unlimited Limitation, an audited financial statement with an unqualified opinion, a classified balance sheet and accompanying notes to the financial statement must be submitted. The audit must be prepared by a certified public accountant or an independent accountant who is engaged in the public practice of accountancy. (See NCAC Title 21; Chapter 12.0204 [a-f] for eligibility requirements.)   RETURN TO TOP


24. Can a parent company's financial information be submitted for a subsidiary's application? No, the financial information or financial statements must be solely on the entity applying for a license.   RETURN TO TOP


25. How does someone file charges against a general contractor? Any person may prefer charges or file a complaint against a general contractor. Complaints must be properly completed on forms provided by the Board, signed and returned to the Board office. All complaints received by the Board office are reviewed and assigned to a field investigator for an investigation.

Once a complaint is received, written notice of the complaint and the charges are then forwarded to the licensee or general contractor for a response. Following a preliminary review of the complaint the investigator may gather additional evidence by making an inspection of the construction project or the work in question. Field investigators also may interview the Respondent contractor, fact witnesses or other individuals who are familiar with the case. When an investigation is completed the case is forwarded to the Board's Review Committee, which then determines whether probable cause exists to recommend that the case be presented to the full Board for a disciplinary hearing. The Board may impose discipline by revoking or suspending the license of the general contractor based on a finding of gross negligence, incompetence, misconduct, or willful violations of the licensing laws. If the general contractor (Respondent) is not licensed to practice general contracting, the Board may only seek entry of a permanent injunction against the contractor in Superior Court. The Board's disciplinary statutes, which describe these procedures, are found at North Carolina General Statutes 87-11(a), 87-13 and 87-13.1.   RETURN TO TOP




For questions concerning complaints or to request a complaint form, please call the Board’s Violations & Complaints Section at (919) 571-4189.